Delete Mint Account & Remove Your Personal Data


This post was last updated on December 10th, 2020 at 03:51 pm

Other unused accounts could be putting your personal security at risk. Delete old and unused online accounts to minimize the risk of data breaches, hacks, and other threats to your privacy. Our free tool quickly finds and helps you to delete accounts you no longer use – check it out.

No longer use your Mint account? it’s best to delete it. This is wise for a few reasons. For one, Mint retains extensive financial data & information about your spending behaviors. It also, by design, is a direct link to your financial health. You wouldn’t want this information to fall into the wrong hands, especially if you are no longer taking value from using your Mint account. Deleting old and unused accounts is a critical privacy protection measure.

In this guide, we cover how to delete a Mint account as well as how to download a full log of the information associated with your account.

How to Delete Mint Account

We’ve outlined the process for deleting your Mint account below. Please note, this is a permanent and irreversible practice. This deletes all Mint account data, including shared services, usage, and artificial intelligence data.

Since Mint is owned and operated by Intuit, the deletion process will bring you to Intuit’s website to proceed.

1. Go to Mint.com.

mint homepage
2. Log in to your account.

mint login
3. Click “Settings” in the navigation bar. This will bring you to your account settings on Intuit’s website.

mint settings
4. Select “Intuit Account” from the left-hand menu.

mint intuit account
5. Click “Data & Privacy” from the left-hand navigation on Intuit. Then select “Delete.”

mint delete account

6. Read through the deletion process info and click “Make a deletion request” to begin the process.

mint make a deletion request
7. Check your email for a verification code. Enter the code and click “Continue.”

mint verification code
8. Verify you are logged in to the correct account.

mint verify account for deletion
9. Check “I understand what’ll happen after my data is deleted and I want to send this request.” Click “Continue.”

mint checkbox after data is deleted

10. Enter your account password and click “Delete this Data.”

mint enter password confirm data deletion

10. Check your email for updates on the status of your request.

mint check email for updates

Two things to note about the process to delete your mint account:

  • It can take up to 45 days for the request to be processed and your account is deleted. During this time, you won’t be able to submit another request and you may no longer have access to your intuit and/or Mint account.
  • Some info may not be eligible for deletion for financial reporting or fraud prevention. Learn more about what information Mint & Intuit retains in its data and privacy documentation.

Manage & Download Your Mint Data

Mint provides the option to download a copy of your account data. This is useful if you’re unsure of what info you’ve provided to Mint as well as to retain for your records if you are preparing to permanently delete the account. The download includes transaction and bill payment history, budgets, financial goals, credit report, any customized offers as well as your personal profile data.

1. Go to Mint.com and log in.

mint login 2
2. Proceed to the “Intuit Account” tab of the “Settings” navigation. This will redirect you to your account on Intuit.

mint intuit account
3. Go to the “Data & Security” tab of your account on Intuit and select “Download.”

mint download data
4. Read the info about downloading your data and click “Continue.”

mint start download process
5. Verify you are logged in to the correct account.

mint verify account for download 2
6. Select “Mint” from the list of Intuit accounts. If you have other Intuit products, you can download your data from those accounts as well.

select mint download
7. Enter your Mint password to proceed with the download.

mint download enter password
8. Your data download is being prepared. Stand by for a confirmation email.

mint download confirmation

It can take up to 45 days for your data download to be prepared. Mint will send you an email once this is complete. You can only have one active data download request at a time.

Delete Other Accounts Putting You at Risk

The more accounts you’ve signed up for over the years, the greater the risk of the account experiencing a hack or data breach that could put your security at risk. Delete any account you no longer use. This includes profiles you’ve created, services you signed up for, and newsletters you’re subscribed to (to name a few). This can be a time-consuming process. We created a free tool that quickly finds any account you used to sign up for with a given email address, then helps you to delete them. Get started with our tool.

Quickly find & delete old accounts you no longer use
Our free tool finds and removes old accounts that could be at risk for a data breach
Categories